Bernstein & Lipsett is a Washington, D.C.-based law firm that focuses on representing federal employees in judicial and administrative actions under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and other federal pay laws. During its 34-year history, the firm has successfully represented thousands of federal employees who were wrongfully denied time and one-half pay for overtime work. Our clients have included employees at the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Department of Homeland Security, Drug Enforcement Administration, the Department of Defense, the Department of Commerce, the U.S. Secret Service, the Department of Transportation, the U.S. Postal Service and many others. They have worked in many job categories including as intelligence analysts, information technology specialists, investigators, surveillance specialists, telecommunication specialists, electronic technicians, security specialists, and inspectors.

Because many federal employees continue to be denied proper overtime pay under the FLSA, Bernstein & Lipsett is still engaged in bringing new legal actions on their behalf.


Jules Bernstein

Jules Bernstein has advocated for workers’ rights for more than a half-century. He serves on the board of directors of the National Employment Law Project. He earned a J.D. from the University of Chicago Law School, an LL.M. in labor law from New York University School of Law, and a B.A. from Brandeis University. He is a member of the Bars of the District of Columbia and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Linda Lipsett

Linda Lipsett has extensive experience litigating on behalf of federal employees. She began her career as a lawyer with the National Treasury Employees Union. She has been lead counsel in several cases establishing important legal precedents in the U.S. Court of Federal Claims and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. She earned a J.D. from the George Washington University Law School, and a B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley. She is a member of the Bars of California, the District of Columbia and the U.S. Supreme Court.